Posted by: S. L. Doss | October 19, 2011

I’ve Got the Gimmes

It’s getting close to Christmas, and I’m putting together the list of what I’d like to give to friends and family. What should be an easy task is agonizingly difficult. I search the web and magazines, searching for that “special gift” that will show my dear ones how I feel about them.

When I find that “perfect” gift, though, I gasp. $59.99 for a 3-inch ceramic figurine? How can it be that much?! $259.99 for a simple winter jacket? That can’t be right! I add and subtract items from my list based on the price, and start grumbling because I don’t have much money.

While I search for gift ideas, I also find things I want. Now, I’m grinding numbers to try to fit my “gimmes” in with the gifts for my friends. My grumbling grows louder, and resentment grows in my heart because I never have enough money for what I want to do.

Why don’t I have money, though? Is it that I’m not earning enough? I look at the necessary expenses in my budget: rent, utilities, food, gasoline, insurance, etc. No, I make enough to cover those and then some. So where is my money going? I look at my spending habits: pizza three times this week here, a “chocolate run” there. I don’t feel like cooking, so let’s run through the drive-thru. I find there’s a lot of little non-necessities that have eroded my budget, until I struggle to make ends meet.

It’s the gimmes outside of Christmas that’s hurting my finances, and that must change. I’ve been given a responsibility to use my money wisely and provide for the needs for my family. I must work on getting the “gimmes” out of my life and being a good steward, to show myself faithful in the little things before I can be blessed with the big things. If I succeed, then I’ll have money when I need as well as when I want.

“He that is faithful in that which is least is faithful also in much: and he that is unjust in the least is unjust also in much.” Luke 16:10

Categories

