Posted by: S. L. Doss | December 29, 2011

Why Not Me?

The year-end is almost here, and as I reflect on 2011, I wonder why. Why does it seem as if others have enchanted lives; they have money to do whatever they want, don’t have to do without, and appear to exude happiness and contentment. On the other hand, we hurt for money, we struggle with sickness in our family, and we live paycheck to paycheck and hope to stretch the last dollar beyond its limits.

If those who led blessed lives were also as dedicated to living for God as we try to be, I could understand…you know, it’d be like the Lord was blessing them for their commitment to him, and I’d start searching my heart to see where I fall short. But most of those who seem to be prospering do not even claim to know God, or have a desire to serve him. So why are they blessed and we struggle? Wouldn’t God want us to prosper? Do we need to learn a lesson so badly that he’s willing to allow us to suffer for the educational benefits we would gain?

Perhaps the answers to these questions are “yes.” Yes, maybe we need to learn how to manage our money. Yes, maybe we have things in our heart that we need to overcome. Yes, maybe there’s a lesson that can only be learned through the storm. But it’s hard to accept that, when I compare my life to others’. But then the Bible says we are not to compare ourselves to others, but only to the Lord. And, it also says we are to be content in whatever state we are in. Finally, it reminds us that this world is not our home, and that we have a better home waiting for us on the other side.

When I look at the word of God, I see that what we have here doesn’t matter; it’s what we do with what we’ve been given. And it doesn’t matter who is blessed or who isn’t, but who we serve. And when I remember my goal, I can bear the burdens and the trials, and can be willing to learn whatever lesson I must, as long as I make it to heaven some day.

“Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.” – Psalm 73:17

Categories

