Posted by: S. L. Doss | March 1, 2016

Can Anyone Say, “Are You Crazy?!”

The tagline to this blog says everything about this post…I’m reflecting on life, trying to find peace in the midst of the chaos. Why? Well, because I think I’ve gone and lost my mind.

About a year ago, my husband and I began to seriously consider homeschooling our son. He had always been a quick learner, and was testing above his age and grade level, and we found ourselves fighting tears because he was so bored in school. Since my husband is a stay-at-home dad with (at that time) his own web design business, we thought it would be very possible to homeschool without too much disruption to our lives. Crazy thought #1. So we kicked around the idea.

At the same time, we elected a new pastor at our church after the former pastor passed away. He had great ideas to grow the church, and this was an opportunity for me to finally begin the drama team I’d always wanted to start. How hard would that be, getting a group together once in a while and practice a sign language or pantomime song to “perform” for the church? Little did I know that Pastor was wanting a very active drama team…but I took it on, because I was passionate about sign/drama and felt it was God’s leading….Crazy thought #2.

So here we were, starting a new ministry, and kicking around the idea of homeschooling. The normal chaos of life just grew. But wait, there’s more!

My husband has always had a passion for outreach, and when an opportunity to take on the position of outreach director came open, he jumped at the chance after a lot of prayer. And I became his right-hand-man….Crazy thought #3.

Homeschooling….where did I leave off with that? Oh, yes, we were considering it. Nope, we jumped right in. After our son finished the 2nd grade, I wrote the letters pulling him from the district and declaring our intention to homeschool beginning the 3rd grade. Alex was excited. No, I should say he was EXCITED!!!!!!!! We studied curriculum and other plans, and finally found a curriculum program that would be perfect. It was free and already “created,” so I wouldn’t have to do anything but make up a daily checklist. Phew! That would be easy….Crazy thought #4.

So, here we were:

Me working full time, trying to be a good wife and mother, trying to keep up with my blog (obviously not very well if you look over the post dates!), a Sunday School teacher, helping with the overhead at church;

My husband trying to get a web design business going, being a stay-at-home dad and a lay preacher at church, along with running the overhead and sound booth (not at the same time…hence why I help on the overhead!);

Starting 2 ministries at about the same time;

Starting to homeschool;

But that isn’t all….

 

Categories

